

Committee Report/Minutes

AAFCO Annual Meeting, 2020 Current Issues and Outreach Committee August 4, 2020, 4:15 - 5:00 PM Virtual

Committee Recommendations

Committee recommendation: None.

Board Recommendations

Board Recommendations: None

Association Actions

Association action: None

Committee Participants

Members Present: Ali Kashani - WA (Committee Chair);

Jennifer Combs (KY), Jo Lynn Otero (NM), Kristen Green (KY), Heather Bartley (WI), Eric Brady (TN), Michael Dutcher (FDA), Jacob Fleig (MO), Hollis Glenn (CO), Jennifer Godwin (FDA), Bethany Henderson (TN), Kent Kitade (Life Member), Tim Lyons (MI), Bernadette Mundo (SC), Isabel Pocurull (FDA), Wendy Powell (MI), Caitlin Price (NC), Austin Therrell (SC), Sharon Webb (KY), Sue Hays (ED)

Advisors Present: Tomas Belloso (NGFA), Dana Brooks (PFI), Louise Calderwood (AFIA), David Fairfield (NGFA), Julia Fidenzio (APPA), Tim Law (NARA), Steve Younker (AFIA),

Committee Report and Minutes:

The meeting started at 4:15 and was introduced by Sue Hays, AAFCO Executive Director. Jennifer Combs gave a welcome and opening remarks. Committee updates and workgroup activities were presented by Jennifer Combs, including the presentation of the Strategic Communications RFP. Jolynn Otero introduced Melanie Marques, MS, for her IFPTI presentation on <u>Consumer Perceptions on the Impact of Pet Food on Human Health</u>. Jolynn Otero then introduced Robert Leuer, MS, for his IFPTI presentation on <u>Relationships</u> Between the Violative Conditions Observed at Medicated Feed Manufacturers Inspected by the Minnesota Department of Agriculture. Jolynn Otero closed the committee meeting.

AAFCO 101 Outreach WorkGroup - Jennifer Combs - KY & JoLynn Otero - NM

A work group was formed during the 2019 Annual Meeting in Louisville, KY to address Strategic Plan # 7.2 Mentoring. The charge of the workgroup is to redesign AAFCO 101 as a new member session during the meetings; and to create a mentoring engagement plan with implementation tracking and reporting.

AAFCO 101 Outreach WorkGroup Members: Jennifer Combs (Lead) – (KY); JoLynn Otero (Lead) – NM; Dana Brooks – PFI; Dave Fairfield – NGFA; Nathan Price – ID; Kent Kitade – member; Burnadett Mundo – SC.

Communications RFP WorkGroup – Jennifer Combs - KY & JoLynn Otero - NM A work group was formed in March 2020 to address the charge given to CIOC to draft an RFP for the AAFCP long-term communications plan.



8/5/2020

Communications RFP WorkGroup Members: Ali Kashani (WA), Jennifer Combs (KY), JoLynn Otero (NM), Hollis Glenn (CO), Reviewers: Dana Brooks – (PFI), Kent Kitade (Life Member), Jordan Smith (UK Marketing Director), Sue Hays (ED)

Other Business:

CIOC will begin monthly meetings regarding mentoring engagement plan with implementation tracking and reporting.

Action Item Table				
Responsible	ltem	Action	Timing / Status	Status
Work Group	Outreach & Mentoring	Redesign AAFCO 101 as a new member session during the meetings	January 2020	Completed
Work Group	Outreach & Mentoring	Create a mentoring engagement plan with implementation tracking and reporting	January 2020	Phase 1 Completed <u>Will resume</u> <u>active work via</u> <u>monthly</u> <u>meetings in</u> <u>September</u>
New				
Work Group	Strategic Communications Plan RFP	CIOC charged with creating RFP • Created RFP workgroup • Developed the RFP • Review & External Review • Sent to board • Suggested edits made and sent back to board	April	On Track to be Released August 10 th