Model Bills and Regulations Committee Report 2021 AAFCO Annual Meeting August 4, 2021 – Virtual

Committee Recommendations:

Board Recommendations:

Association Actions:

Committee Report and Minutes:

Model Bills and Regulations Committee Chairman Doug Lueders called the meeting to order at 3 p.m. eastern on Aug. 4, 2021. He welcomed committee members, industry advisers and guests who were present.

Other committee members participating in the meeting were: Dan King, Committee Vice-Chair (Minnesota), Ken Bowers (Kansas), Eric Brady (Tennessee), David Dressler (Pennsylvania), George Ferguson (North Carolina), Darrell Johnson (Kentucky), Ben Jones (Texas), Sherrie Krolczyk (FDA), Eric Nelson (FDA), Richard Ten Eyck (Oregon), and Scott Ziehr (Colorado).

Industry advisers participating were Meghan Dicks and Steve Younker (AFIA), Dave Dzanis (APPA/ACVN), Emily Helmes (ETA), Jan Campbell and David Fairfield (NGFA), and Angele Thompson and Pat Tovey (PFI).

AAFCO Executive Director Sue Hayes and AAFCO Executive Assistant Melissa Kunze also participated in the meeting.

Minutes from Previous Committee Meetings

Chairman Lueders noted that minutes from the committee's Jan. 21, 2021 virtual meeting were previously approved on March 5, and minutes from the committee's e-meetings conducted on Feb. 17 – March 2 and June 15 – 22 were approved on March 5 and June 22, respectively. All minutes are posted on the AAFCO website and in the Feed BIN, and included within the 2021 AAFCO Annual Meeting Committee Report Book.

Labeling Work Group Report

The work group established to consider potential changes to AAFCO's definition for "labeling" intends to provide recommendations during the 2022 AAFCO Mid-Year Meeting. Mr. Ziehr assumed the position of chairman for the work group, which previously had been held by Mr. Ferguson. Other individuals serving on the work group are Bill Burkholder, Jan Campbell, Meghan Dicks, Karen Donnelly, David Dressler, Dave Dzanis, and Angele Thompson.

Flavors Work Group Report

The work group established to evaluate issues associated with 21 CFR 501.22 flavor requirements and make recommendations on whether AAFCO should address reported that it is still considering the topic and anticipates providing a report during the 2022 AAFCO Mid-Year Meeting. The work group is chaired by Dan King. Other individuals serving on the work group are Bill Burkholder, Jan Campbell, Meghan Dicks, Karen Donnelly, David Dressler, Dave Dzanis, and Angele Thompson. Richard Ten Eyck and Austin Therrell were added as state regulator participants to the work group to provide additional input on possible state-level issues.

New Business

Colors

Chairman Lueders requested the Flavors Work Group also consider requirements associated with animal food colors within CFR 21 501.22 and make recommendations on whether, and, if so, how AAFCO should address.

Human Grade Pet Food Guidelines

At the request of the AAFCO Pet Food Committee, the committee took no action during the meeting related to the Guidelines for Human Grade Pet and Specialty Pet Food Claims. Chairman Lueders stated the Pet Food Committee desired additional time for public comment on the guidelines prior to AAFCO taking further actions. He also stated that it was likely the committee would conduct an e-meeting to consider the guidelines prior to the 2022 AAFCO Mid-Year Meeting after the public comment period ends on Oct. 22.

Adjournment

Chairman Lueders asked whether there was any other business to be considered by the committee. Given that none was identified, the committee meeting was adjourned at approximately 3:30 p.m. eastern

On behalf of the Model Bills and Regulations Committee, I respectfully submit this report and request acceptance of the report by the AAFCO Board of Directors and the Association membership.