# **General Session Agenda**

2024 AAFCO Midyear Meeting Chattanooga Convention Center Chattanooga, Tennessee Tuesday, January 23, 2024 8:00–8:30 am EST

### Agenda 8:00 am 8:05 am

Opening Remarks, President Josh Arbaugh, West Virginia Department of Agriculture Introduction and Welcome to Tennessee Charlie Hatcher, Commissioner, Tennessee Department of Agriculture Chemist



Charlie Hatcher, DVM, was sworn in as Tennessee's 38th Commissioner of Agriculture on January 19, 2019. Appointed by Governor Bill Lee, Dr. Hatcher is a tenth-generation American farmer and a fifth-generation Tennessee farmer. Prior to becoming Commissioner, he served for 10 years as the State Veterinarian for the Tennessee Department of Agriculture. In that role, he protected the health and welfare of animals within the state and promoted the marketability of animals and animal products. Dr. Hatcher founded

Rock-N-Country Veterinary Services in College Grove, Tennessee, in 1993, specializing in livestock. The veterinary practice is now managed by his daughter, Jennifer, who is also a veterinarian. The Hatchers are well known in the dairy and agritourism industries, too. In 2007, Hatcher Family Dairy began bottling its own milk and today provides milk and milk products to customers in middle Tennessee. Hatcher's son, Charles, serves as president of the business. Dr. Hatcher earned a Doctorate of Veterinary Medicine from the University of Tennessee at Knoxville (1984) and a BS in animal science from Middle Tennessee State University (1980). He lives on the family farm in College Grove (est. 1831) with his wife of over 40 years, Sharon. His son and daughter also live on the farm with their families.

## 8:20 am

Outgoing Presidential Remarks via Video, Eric Brady, previously with the Tennessee Department of Agriculture

#### 8:23 am 8:25 am

Memorial, President Josh Arbaugh, West Virginia Department of Agriculture Presentation of 2023 Awards, Austin Therrell, Executive Director

- Distinguished Service Awards:
  - o Ken Bowers For his leadership and dedication to AAFCO throughout his career.
- Presidential Awards
  - George Ferguson For his dedicated work in providing technical expertise in furthering the association.
  - o Dani Naylor For her dedicated work in furthering the association.
- Appreciation Awards
  - o AV Workgroup: Sally Flowers, Bailey Whiten, Josh Arbaugh, Mark LeBlanc, Patricia Dunn, Brenda Snodgrass

#### 8:30 am

Association Business Meeting, President Josh Arbaugh, West Virginia Department of Agriculture