Ingredient Definitions Committee

Welcome to the Ingredient Definitions Committee page. The actual definitions are published annually in the AAFCO Official Publication (OP). This book is a primary source of revenue to pay for the costs of running the ingredient definition process. Your purchase of the OP is appreciated. We understand it may be a burden to purchase an OP to get one definition, and in those cases, we recommend you contact your state Department of Agriculture or look for the AAFCO Official Publication at your local library. (click here to find state contacts).

A 14 day trial subscription is available for the AAFCO Online Official Publication (OP) for $20.  The online version is a secured read only document that cannot be downloaded or printed.  To purchase please visit the publications page.

These definitions apply to all animal feeds. Many pet food manufacturers have tighter specifications than these definitions. We recommend talking with your pet food company about the ingredients and sources they use.

If you have questions about how ingredients are defined by AAFCO, an established definition, or a suggested definition, please complete the following form and submit it

Ask a Question

AAFCO will only respond to information requests submitted into our system in English. Requests submitted in a language other than English will be deleted.

First Name
Last Name
Email Address
Company Name
Company Website
Feed Ingredient
Your Question
A brief explanation of your question will help us get it to the correct person.
Captcha didn't load! Please reload the page.

Powerpoint Presentations

AAFCO Headquarters Office
1800 S. Oak Street, Suite 100, Champaign, IL 61820-6974
Phone: 217-356-4221 --- Fax: 217-398-4119
Copyright 2021 by The Association of American Feed Control Officials